Marketing…who has time for it all?

The recent announcement that Google+ has launched Brand or Business pages had me longing for the days when “online presence” meant you had a website. And your website was “interactive” if it had hyperlinks to other sites, as well as pictures and animation.

When I saw the G+ announcement, I heaved a heavy sigh.

Another social network to learn, post, engage, manage.

I don’t know about other PR/Communicators/Marketers, but I don’t have time for this.

I’m already trying to keep my organization’s website up-to-date, fresh and informative.

I have to design three marketing and promotional pieces in the next few weeks.

I have a twice monthly newsletter to create,  proof and distribute.

I have to continue to foster and cultivate relationships with journalists and keep my eye out for any media coverage opportunities.

I have to produce quarterly reports of our website usage.

I have to come up with a pr/advertising campaign to launch in the second half of 2012.

I have events to attend and prepare materials for, take pictures at, and write a recap after.

And last, but not least, I am the administrator for my organization’s social networks.

When am I going to fit in learning the ins and outs of G+? And is it worth it? The experts are saying yes… because Google no longer indexes Twitter and G+ is a great search engine tool (or something like that).

I vaguely remember the days when I would stand at the fax machine and send out dozens of media alerts. And when press kits were mailed, or even hand-delivered. And the only options for advertising were TV, radio, print and billboard, or direct mail.

Change is inevitable. That’s true. But sometimes I wish the change would slow down a bit, and let me catch up.

Leave a Reply

